Question: How many fard and sunnah rakahs are to be performed for Fajr, thur and Asr.


Wa alaykum salam wa rahmatuLlahi wa barakatuHu,

Five daily prayers are obligatory. Each consists of a certain number of rakahs, as follows:

1) Subh is a two rakah prayer.

2) Zuhr is a four rakah prayer.

3) Asr is a four rakah prayer.

4) Maghrib is a three rakah prayer.

5) Isha is a four rakah prayer.

The emphasized supererogatory prayers that are offered along with the obligatory prayers (in Arabic they are called rawatib mu’akkadah رواتب مؤكدة) are as follows:

1) Two rakahs before subh [the morning prayer].

2) Two rakahs before and after zuhr [the afternoon prayer].

3) Two rakahs after maghrib [the after sunset prayer].

4) Two rakahs after isha [the night prayer].

If one wishes he could also pray four rakahs before and after zuhr. Also, one may offer four rakahs before asr [the late afternoon prayer]. And two rakahs before maghrib. One should also be punctual in performing witr. According to the Shafi’is witr is sunnah, while according to the Hanafis it is wajib.

(See: Mughni al-Muhtaj v. 1, p. 450-51)

And Allah knows best.

Answered by Yaqub Abdurrahman